← Data Center GPUs
Comparison Data Center GPUs Prices on request — no figure is published on this page

A100 80GB vs L4

The A100 80GB and the L4 are both data centre GPUs we supply tested from Hong Kong, and the figures below are the same ones published on each product page. They share the same supply and warranty terms and separate on memory, interface, architecture, so the decision is less about "which is better" and more about which of those differences your platform or workload can actually use.

Nothing on this page is a price: used and refurbished hardware is repriced weekly, so both are quoted on request against confirmed stock with the date the quote holds until. If you are replacing a part, send the platform and we will confirm the population before you commit.

Side by side

A100 80GB vs L4 specifications

Specification A100 80GB L4
Memory80GB HBM2e with ECC, 1,935 GB/s on PCIe; 2,039 GB/s on SXM424GB GDDR6 ECC, 300 GB/s
Powernot stated72W TDP — no external power connector
InterfacePCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot passive (300W); SXM4 400WPCIe Gen4 x16, single-slot low-profile, passive
ArchitectureAmpere GA100, 6,912 CUDA cores, 432 third-gen Tensor coresAda Lovelace, 7,424 CUDA cores, 232 Tensor cores
ComputeFP16-BF16 Tensor 312 TFLOPS / TF32 156 TFLOPS / FP32 19.5 TFLOPSFP8 242 TFLOPS / FP16 121 TFLOPS / TF32 60 TFLOPS
MIGUp to 7 instances (10GB each)not stated
NVLinkPCIe: 2-way bridge; SXM4: 12 links, 600 GB/snot stated
Virtualizationnot statedvGPU support, NVIDIA AI Enterprise ready
StatusProduction discontinued — secondary-market supply onlynot stated
ModelNVIDIA A100 80GB PCIe; SXM4 variant availableNVIDIA L4 (900-2G193-0000-000)
Medianot stated2x NVENC, 4x NVDEC, 4x JPEG — AV1 encode

Rows that differ are highlighted. Figures are the same ones published on each product page; where a figure is community-sourced rather than vendor-published it is stated on that page. Confirm every part against your build sheet when ordering.

Where they differ

  • ·Memory — A100 80GB: 80GB HBM2e with ECC, 1,935 GB/s on PCIe; 2,039 GB/s on SXM4; L4: 24GB GDDR6 ECC, 300 GB/s.
  • ·Interface — A100 80GB: PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot passive (300W); SXM4 400W; L4: PCIe Gen4 x16, single-slot low-profile, passive.
  • ·Architecture — A100 80GB: Ampere GA100, 6,912 CUDA cores, 432 third-gen Tensor cores; L4: Ada Lovelace, 7,424 CUDA cores, 232 Tensor cores.
  • ·Compute — A100 80GB: FP16-BF16 Tensor 312 TFLOPS / TF32 156 TFLOPS / FP32 19.5 TFLOPS; L4: FP8 242 TFLOPS / FP16 121 TFLOPS / TF32 60 TFLOPS.

Decision

Which one to buy

Data centre GPUs are chosen by memory footprint per job and by the deployment you already have. More memory per card means bigger models, larger batches and fewer cards for the same workload; less memory per card is often the better buy when you scale out across many nodes. Memory bandwidth and compute format matter for the workload — FP8 and BF16 throughput for inference, FP64 for simulation — and the power envelope decides how many cards fit per chassis. Check the form factor and cooling as well: a passive server card and an actively cooled workstation card are not interchangeable.

Choose the A100 80GB if

  • ·Memory: 80GB HBM2e with ECC, 1,935 GB/s on PCIe; 2,039 GB/s on SXM4
  • ·Interface: PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot passive (300W); SXM4 400W
  • ·Architecture: Ampere GA100, 6,912 CUDA cores, 432 third-gen Tensor cores

Full A100 80GB specification →

Choose the L4 if

  • ·Memory: 24GB GDDR6 ECC, 300 GB/s
  • ·Interface: PCIe Gen4 x16, single-slot low-profile, passive
  • ·Architecture: Ada Lovelace, 7,424 CUDA cores, 232 Tensor cores

Full L4 specification →

Photos

What the two look like

NVIDIA A100 80GB PCIe official render — dual-slot passive data center GPU with A100 marking

A100 80GB

Photo from the A100 80GB page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

NVIDIA L4 24GB official render — low-profile single-slot PCIe inference GPU

L4

Photo from the L4 page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

Frequently asked questions

How much do the A100 80GB and the L4 cost?

We do not publish prices for either: secondary-market hardware is repriced weekly. Send the quantity, the platform and the condition you want and we quote both against confirmed stock, with the date the figure holds until.

What is the main difference between the A100 80GB and the L4?

Memory (A100 80GB: 80GB HBM2e with ECC, 1,935 GB/s on PCIe; 2,039 GB/s on SXM4; L4: 24GB GDDR6 ECC, 300 GB/s); Interface (A100 80GB: PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot passive (300W); SXM4 400W; L4: PCIe Gen4 x16, single-slot low-profile, passive); Architecture (A100 80GB: Ampere GA100, 6,912 CUDA cores, 432 third-gen Tensor cores; L4: Ada Lovelace, 7,424 CUDA cores, 232 Tensor cores).

Can I use the A100 80GB and the L4 in the same system?

They can share a server if the power and slot budget allows it, but they target different jobs: A100 80GB and L4 differ mainly on Memory and Interface. Mixed GPU models in one host is a driver/CUDA compatibility decision, not a hardware one.

Which one should I buy?

Buy the one whose strong points match the job: see the "Choose" section above. If you are replacing an existing part, send the platform or the old part number and we will confirm compatibility before you order.

What condition are they in, and do you ship worldwide?

Both are supplied tested with a 1-year written warranty. Condition is stated line by line before you order — new, decommissioned pull or OEM tray — and we ship worldwide from the Hong Kong warehouse with full export documentation, typically 3–7 days by air.

Get a quote for either — or both

Tell us the quantity, the platform and the condition you need. We confirm stock and put a firm figure in writing with the date it holds until.

Request a Quote

More Data Center GPUs · All comparisons · A100 80GB · L4