L40S vs RTX 6000 Ada
The L40S and the RTX 6000 Ada are both data centre GPUs we supply tested from Hong Kong, and the figures below are the same ones published on each product page. They share 1 listed specification row and separate on memory, power, interface, so the decision is less about "which is better" and more about which of those differences your platform or workload can actually use.
Nothing on this page is a price: used and refurbished hardware is repriced weekly, so both are quoted on request against confirmed stock with the date the quote holds until. If you are replacing a part, send the platform and we will confirm the population before you commit.
Side by side
L40S vs RTX 6000 Ada specifications
| Specification | L40S | RTX 6000 Ada |
|---|---|---|
| Memory | 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 864 GB/s | 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 960 GB/s |
| Power | 350W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector | 300W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector |
| Interface | PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot full-height, passive | PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot full-height, active (blower) cooling |
| Architecture | Ada Lovelace, 18,176 CUDA cores, 568 fourth-gen Tensor cores, 142 third-gen RT cores | Ada Lovelace, 18,176 CUDA cores, 568 fourth-gen Tensor cores, 142 third-gen RT cores |
| Compute | FP8 733 TFLOPS / FP16-BF16 362 TFLOPS / TF32 183 TFLOPS / FP32 91.6 TFLOPS | FP32 91.1 TFLOPS |
| NVLink | not stated | Not supported on the Ada Generation board |
| NVLink / MIG | No NVLink; MIG not supported on this board | not stated |
| Virtualization | vGPU supported; NVIDIA AI Enterprise ready | vGPU supported (vPC, vApps, RTX vWS, vCS) |
| Model | NVIDIA L40S 48GB PCIe; OEM-branded Dell / Lenovo / HP boards are the same GPU | NVIDIA RTX 6000 Ada Generation 48GB; PNY, Dell and other OEM-branded boards are the same GPU |
| Media | 3x NVENC / 3x NVDEC — AV1 encode and decode | not stated |
| Display Outputs | not stated | 4x DisplayPort 1.4a |
Rows that differ are highlighted. Figures are the same ones published on each product page; where a figure is community-sourced rather than vendor-published it is stated on that page. Confirm every part against your build sheet when ordering.
Where they differ
- ·Memory — L40S: 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 864 GB/s; RTX 6000 Ada: 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 960 GB/s.
- ·Power — L40S: 350W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector; RTX 6000 Ada: 300W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector.
- ·Interface — L40S: PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot full-height, passive; RTX 6000 Ada: PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot full-height, active (blower) cooling.
- ·Compute — L40S: FP8 733 TFLOPS / FP16-BF16 362 TFLOPS / TF32 183 TFLOPS / FP32 91.6 TFLOPS; RTX 6000 Ada: FP32 91.1 TFLOPS.
- ·Virtualization — L40S: vGPU supported; NVIDIA AI Enterprise ready; RTX 6000 Ada: vGPU supported (vPC, vApps, RTX vWS, vCS).
What they share
Architecture: Ada Lovelace, 18,176 CUDA cores, 568 fourth-gen Tensor cores, 142 third-gen RT cores.
Decision
Which one to buy
Data centre GPUs are chosen by memory footprint per job and by the deployment you already have. More memory per card means bigger models, larger batches and fewer cards for the same workload; less memory per card is often the better buy when you scale out across many nodes. Memory bandwidth and compute format matter for the workload — FP8 and BF16 throughput for inference, FP64 for simulation — and the power envelope decides how many cards fit per chassis. Check the form factor and cooling as well: a passive server card and an actively cooled workstation card are not interchangeable.
Choose the L40S if
- ·Memory: 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 864 GB/s
- ·Power: 350W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector
- ·Interface: PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot full-height, passive
Choose the RTX 6000 Ada if
- ·Memory: 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 960 GB/s
- ·Power: 300W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector
- ·Interface: PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot full-height, active (blower) cooling
Photos
What the two look like

RTX 6000 Ada
Photo from the RTX 6000 Ada page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.
Frequently asked questions
How much do the L40S and the RTX 6000 Ada cost?
We do not publish prices for either: secondary-market hardware is repriced weekly. Send the quantity, the platform and the condition you want and we quote both against confirmed stock, with the date the figure holds until.
What is the main difference between the L40S and the RTX 6000 Ada?
Memory (L40S: 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 864 GB/s; RTX 6000 Ada: 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 960 GB/s); Power (L40S: 350W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector; RTX 6000 Ada: 300W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector); Interface (L40S: PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot full-height, passive; RTX 6000 Ada: PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot full-height, active (blower) cooling).
Can I use the L40S and the RTX 6000 Ada in the same system?
They can share a server if the power and slot budget allows it, but they target different jobs: L40S and RTX 6000 Ada differ mainly on Memory and Power. Mixed GPU models in one host is a driver/CUDA compatibility decision, not a hardware one.
Which one should I buy?
Buy the one whose strong points match the job: see the "Choose" section above. If you are replacing an existing part, send the platform or the old part number and we will confirm compatibility before you order.
What condition are they in, and do you ship worldwide?
Both are supplied tested with a 1-year written warranty. Condition is stated line by line before you order — new, decommissioned pull or OEM tray — and we ship worldwide from the Hong Kong warehouse with full export documentation, typically 3–7 days by air.
Get a quote for either — or both
Tell us the quantity, the platform and the condition you need. We confirm stock and put a firm figure in writing with the date it holds until.
Request a QuoteMore Data Center GPUs · All comparisons · L40S · RTX 6000 Ada
