Xeon Gold 5218R vs Xeon Gold 6148
The Xeon Gold 5218R and the Xeon Gold 6148 are both server processors we supply tested from Hong Kong, and the figures below are the same ones published on each product page. They share 2 listed specification rows and separate on socket, tdp, cache, so the decision is less about "which is better" and more about which of those differences your platform or workload can actually use.
Nothing on this page is a price: component pricing moved too fast in 2026 for a printed figure to stay honest, so both are quoted on request against confirmed stock with the date the quote holds until. If you are replacing a part, send the platform and we will confirm the population before you commit.
Side by side
Xeon Gold 5218R vs Xeon Gold 6148 specifications
| Specification | Xeon Gold 5218R | Xeon Gold 6148 |
|---|---|---|
| Cores / Threads | 20 cores / 40 threads | 20 cores / 40 threads |
| Socket | FCLGA3647 | LGA3647 (Socket P) |
| TDP | 125 W | 150W |
| Cache | 27.5 MB | 20MB L2 + 27.5MB L3 |
| Memory | DDR4-2667, 6 channels, up to 1 TB, ECC supported | 6-channel DDR4-2666, ECC |
| PCIe | PCIe 3.0, 48 lanes | PCIe 3.0, 48 lanes |
| Scalability | 2S - dual-socket | 2P (dual-socket) |
| Processor | Intel Xeon Gold 5218R (2nd Gen Xeon Scalable, Cascade Lake) | Intel Xeon Gold 6148 |
| sSpec / stepping | SRGZ7 / B1 (Intel ARK ordering data) | not stated |
| Ordering codes | Tray CD8069504446300; boxed retail BX806955218R, both sSpec SRGZ7 at stepping B1 (Intel ARK ordering data) | not stated |
| Instruction set extensions | Intel SSE4.2, AVX, AVX2, AVX-512 | not stated |
| Launch | Launched Q1'20; Intel servicing status: ESU Notification Issued | July 2017 |
| Clock | 2.10 GHz base / 4.00 GHz max | 2.4GHz base |
| Turbo (all-core / max) | not stated | 3.1GHz / 3.7GHz |
| Interconnect | not stated | 3× 10.4 GT/s |
| sSpec | not stated | SR3B6 |
Rows that differ are highlighted. Figures are the same ones published on each product page; where a figure is community-sourced rather than vendor-published it is stated on that page. Confirm every part against your build sheet when ordering.
Where they differ
- ·Socket — Xeon Gold 5218R: FCLGA3647; Xeon Gold 6148: LGA3647 (Socket P).
- ·Xeon Gold 5218R is the better figure for power draw (125 W vs 150W).
- ·Xeon Gold 5218R has the higher cache (27.5 vs 20); Xeon Gold 6148 trades that for something else.
- ·Memory — Xeon Gold 5218R: DDR4-2667, 6 channels, up to 1 TB, ECC supported; Xeon Gold 6148: 6-channel DDR4-2666, ECC.
- ·Scalability — Xeon Gold 5218R: 2S - dual-socket; Xeon Gold 6148: 2P (dual-socket).
- ·Launch — Xeon Gold 5218R: Launched Q1'20; Intel servicing status: ESU Notification Issued; Xeon Gold 6148: July 2017.
- ·Xeon Gold 6148 lists the higher base clock (2.4GHz base vs 2.10 GHz base / 4.00 GHz max).
What they share
Cores / Threads: 20 cores / 40 threads; PCIe: PCIe 3.0, 48 lanes.
Decision
Which one to buy
For processors the useful split is throughput versus frequency. More cores per socket wins on virtualisation density, parallel batch work and multi-tenant hosting, where the scheduler can keep every core busy; higher base and boost clocks win where the workload is latency-sensitive or licensed per core, and the extra cores would sit idle. Check the socket and the platform's memory generation before anything else: a CPU is only useful in a board that takes it, and the two models above are interchangeable only when the socket matches. TDP also sets the cooling and power budget per node.
Choose the Xeon Gold 5218R if
- ·Socket: FCLGA3647
- ·You need lower power draw — the Xeon Gold 5218R lists 125 W against 150W on the Xeon Gold 6148.
- ·You need more cache — the Xeon Gold 5218R lists 27.5 MB against 20MB L2 + 27.5MB L3 on the Xeon Gold 6148.
Choose the Xeon Gold 6148 if
- ·Socket: LGA3647 (Socket P)
- ·Memory: 6-channel DDR4-2666, ECC
- ·Scalability: 2P (dual-socket)
Photos
What the two look like

Xeon Gold 5218R
Photo from the Xeon Gold 5218R page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

Xeon Gold 6148
Photo from the Xeon Gold 6148 page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.
Frequently asked questions
How much do the Xeon Gold 5218R and the Xeon Gold 6148 cost?
We do not publish prices for either: DRAM and CPU pricing moved too fast in 2026 for a printed figure to stay honest. Send the quantity, the platform and the condition you want and we quote both against confirmed stock, with the date the figure holds until.
What is the main difference between the Xeon Gold 5218R and the Xeon Gold 6148?
Socket (Xeon Gold 5218R: FCLGA3647; Xeon Gold 6148: LGA3647 (Socket P)); TDP (Xeon Gold 5218R: 125 W; Xeon Gold 6148: 150W); Cache (Xeon Gold 5218R: 27.5 MB; Xeon Gold 6148: 20MB L2 + 27.5MB L3).
Can I use the Xeon Gold 5218R and the Xeon Gold 6148 in the same system?
Both are FCLGA3647 parts, so one server can take either model — but you would not mix two different CPU models in a single two-socket machine; order one model per server.
Which one should I buy?
Buy the one whose strong points match the job: see the "Choose" section above. If you are replacing an existing part, send the platform or the old part number and we will confirm compatibility before you order.
What condition are they in, and do you ship worldwide?
Both are supplied tested with a 1-year written warranty. Condition is stated line by line before you order — new, decommissioned pull or OEM tray — and we ship worldwide from the Hong Kong warehouse with full export documentation, typically 3–7 days by air.
Get a quote for either — or both
Tell us the quantity, the platform and the condition you need. We confirm stock and put a firm figure in writing with the date it holds until.
Request a QuoteMore Server CPUs · All comparisons · Xeon Gold 5218R · Xeon Gold 6148