Xeon 6760P vs Xeon E5-2680 v4
The Xeon 6760P and the Xeon E5-2680 v4 are both server processors we supply tested from Hong Kong, and the figures below are the same ones published on each product page. They share the same supply and warranty terms and separate on cores / threads, tdp, cache, so the decision is less about "which is better" and more about which of those differences your platform or workload can actually use.
Nothing on this page is a price: component pricing moved too fast in 2026 for a printed figure to stay honest, so both are quoted on request against confirmed stock with the date the quote holds until. If you are replacing a part, send the platform and we will confirm the population before you commit.
Side by side
Xeon 6760P vs Xeon E5-2680 v4 specifications
| Specification | Xeon 6760P | Xeon E5-2680 v4 |
|---|---|---|
| Cores / Threads | 64 cores / 128 threads | 14 cores / 28 threads |
| Socket | not stated | FCLGA2011 (commonly referred to as LGA2011-3) |
| TDP | 330 W / Intel 3 | 120 W |
| Cache | 320 MB | 35 MB Intel Smart Cache |
| Memory | DDR5 (6400 MT/s) - 8 channels, no MRDIMM support | DDR4 1600/1866/2133/2400, 4 channels, up to 1.5 TB, 76.8 GB/s, ECC supported |
| PCIe | PCIe 5.0, 88 lanes / 4 UPI links | PCIe 3.0, 40 lanes |
| Platform | Intel Xeon 6 processors (Products formerly Granite Rapids) | not stated |
| Socket / Launch Date | FCLGA4710 / Q1'25 | not stated |
| Clock | 2.2 GHz base / 3.8 GHz max turbo | 2.40 GHz base / 3.30 GHz (Turbo Boost 2.0) max |
| Processor | not stated | Intel Xeon Processor E5-2680 v4 (E5 v4 family, Broadwell) |
| sSpec / stepping | not stated | SR2N7 / M0 (Intel ARK ordering data) |
| Ordering codes | not stated | Tray CM8066002031501; boxed retail BX80660E52680V4 (Intel ARK ordering data) |
| Interconnect | not stated | 2x QPI links at 9.6 GT/s; 2-socket scalability |
| Instruction set extensions | not stated | Intel AVX2 |
| Launch | not stated | Launched Q1'16; Intel lists End of Servicing Updates |
Rows that differ are highlighted. Figures are the same ones published on each product page; where a figure is community-sourced rather than vendor-published it is stated on that page. Confirm every part against your build sheet when ordering.
Where they differ
- ·Xeon 6760P has the higher core count (64 vs 14); Xeon E5-2680 v4 trades that for something else.
- ·Xeon E5-2680 v4 is the better figure for power draw (330 W / Intel 3 vs 120 W).
- ·Xeon 6760P has the higher cache (320 vs 35); Xeon E5-2680 v4 trades that for something else.
- ·Memory — Xeon 6760P: DDR5 (6400 MT/s) - 8 channels, no MRDIMM support; Xeon E5-2680 v4: DDR4 1600/1866/2133/2400, 4 channels, up to 1.5 TB, 76.8 GB/s, ECC supported.
- ·PCIe — Xeon 6760P: PCIe 5.0, 88 lanes / 4 UPI links; Xeon E5-2680 v4: PCIe 3.0, 40 lanes.
- ·Xeon E5-2680 v4 lists the higher base clock (2.40 GHz base / 3.30 GHz (Turbo Boost 2.0) max vs 2.2 GHz base / 3.8 GHz max turbo).
Decision
Which one to buy
For processors the useful split is throughput versus frequency. More cores per socket wins on virtualisation density, parallel batch work and multi-tenant hosting, where the scheduler can keep every core busy; higher base and boost clocks win where the workload is latency-sensitive or licensed per core, and the extra cores would sit idle. Check the socket and the platform's memory generation before anything else: a CPU is only useful in a board that takes it, and the two models above are interchangeable only when the socket matches. TDP also sets the cooling and power budget per node.
Choose the Xeon 6760P if
- ·You need more core count — the Xeon 6760P lists 64 cores / 128 threads against 14 cores / 28 threads on the Xeon E5-2680 v4.
- ·You need more cache — the Xeon 6760P lists 320 MB against 35 MB Intel Smart Cache on the Xeon E5-2680 v4.
- ·Memory: DDR5 (6400 MT/s) - 8 channels, no MRDIMM support
Choose the Xeon E5-2680 v4 if
- ·You need lower power draw — the Xeon E5-2680 v4 lists 120 W against 330 W / Intel 3 on the Xeon 6760P.
- ·Memory: DDR4 1600/1866/2133/2400, 4 channels, up to 1.5 TB, 76.8 GB/s, ECC supported
- ·PCIe: PCIe 3.0, 40 lanes
Photos
What the two look like

Xeon 6760P
Photo from the Xeon 6760P page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

Xeon E5-2680 v4
Photo from the Xeon E5-2680 v4 page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.
Frequently asked questions
How much do the Xeon 6760P and the Xeon E5-2680 v4 cost?
We do not publish prices for either: DRAM and CPU pricing moved too fast in 2026 for a printed figure to stay honest. Send the quantity, the platform and the condition you want and we quote both against confirmed stock, with the date the figure holds until.
What is the main difference between the Xeon 6760P and the Xeon E5-2680 v4?
Cores / Threads (Xeon 6760P: 64 cores / 128 threads; Xeon E5-2680 v4: 14 cores / 28 threads); TDP (Xeon 6760P: 330 W / Intel 3; Xeon E5-2680 v4: 120 W); Cache (Xeon 6760P: 320 MB; Xeon E5-2680 v4: 35 MB Intel Smart Cache).
Can I use the Xeon 6760P and the Xeon E5-2680 v4 in the same system?
No. They use different sockets (see spec vs FCLGA2011 (commonly referred to as LGA2011-3)), so they need different server platforms and cannot share a board.
Which one should I buy?
Buy the one whose strong points match the job: see the "Choose" section above. If you are replacing an existing part, send the platform or the old part number and we will confirm compatibility before you order.
What condition are they in, and do you ship worldwide?
Both are supplied tested with a 1-year written warranty. Condition is stated line by line before you order — new, decommissioned pull or OEM tray — and we ship worldwide from the Hong Kong warehouse with full export documentation, typically 3–7 days by air.
Get a quote for either — or both
Tell us the quantity, the platform and the condition you need. We confirm stock and put a firm figure in writing with the date it holds until.
Request a QuoteMore Server CPUs · All comparisons · Xeon 6760P · Xeon E5-2680 v4