← Rack Servers
Comparison Rack Servers Prices on request — no figure is published on this page

R750 vs R760

The R750 and the R760 are both rack servers we supply tested from Hong Kong, and the figures below are the same ones published on each product page. They share 2 listed specification rows and separate on processors, memory, power, so the decision is less about "which is better" and more about which of those differences your platform or workload can actually use.

Nothing on this page is a price: used and refurbished hardware is repriced weekly, so both are quoted on request against confirmed stock with the date the quote holds until. If you are replacing a part, send the platform and we will confirm the population before you commit.

Side by side

R750 vs R760 specifications

Specification R750 R760
Processors3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), LGA4189, dual socket2× 4th Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Sapphire Rapids), up to 60 cores each
Memory32 x DDR4-3200 DIMM slots32× DDR5 DIMM slots, up to 8TB RDIMM, 4800 MT/s (16 channels total)
Expansionnot statedUp to 8× PCIe Gen5 slots
Storagenot statedUp to 24× E3.S NVMe or 16× 2.5" SAS/SATA + 8× E3.S front bays
PowerDual redundant hot-plug PSURedundant PSUs, 1400W–2800W options
Form factor2U rack2U rack
Networkingnot statedOCP 3.0 mezzanine + PCIe NICs, up to 200GbE
ModelDell PowerEdge R750not stated
Maximum memory8TB (vendor-rated with the largest supported LRDIMMs)not stated
Drive baysUp to 24 x 2.5in or 12 x 3.5in SAS/SATA/NVMenot stated
PCIePCIe Gen4not stated
ManagementiDRAC9iDRAC9 Enterprise with security co-processor

Rows that differ are highlighted. Figures are the same ones published on each product page; where a figure is community-sourced rather than vendor-published it is stated on that page. Confirm every part against your build sheet when ordering.

Where they differ

  • ·Processors — R750: 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), LGA4189, dual socket; R760: 2× 4th Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Sapphire Rapids), up to 60 cores each.
  • ·Memory — R750: 32 x DDR4-3200 DIMM slots; R760: 32× DDR5 DIMM slots, up to 8TB RDIMM, 4800 MT/s (16 channels total).
  • ·Power — R750: Dual redundant hot-plug PSU; R760: Redundant PSUs, 1400W–2800W options.

What they share

Form factor: 2U rack; Management: iDRAC9.

Decision

Which one to buy

With two rack servers the decision usually comes down to three things: which processor generation the platform takes, which memory type comes with it, and how many PCIe lanes and bays you get. A newer generation (4th/5th Gen Xeon, DDR5, PCIe Gen5) is the longer-lived buy and will still take current-generation parts in three years; a previous-generation DDR4 platform is the value buy when the workload is settled and the CPUs and memory for it are already on the shelf. Neither choice is wrong — but the platform decides what you can upgrade later, so match it to the CPU and memory you intend to run rather than to the chassis.

Choose the R750 if

  • ·Processors: 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), LGA4189, dual socket
  • ·Memory: 32 x DDR4-3200 DIMM slots
  • ·Power: Dual redundant hot-plug PSU

Full R750 specification →

Choose the R760 if

  • ·Processors: 2× 4th Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Sapphire Rapids), up to 60 cores each
  • ·Memory: 32× DDR5 DIMM slots, up to 8TB RDIMM, 4800 MT/s (16 channels total)
  • ·Power: Redundant PSUs, 1400W–2800W options

Full R760 specification →

Photos

What the two look like

Dell PowerEdge R750 front view

R750

Photo from the R750 page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

Dell PowerEdge R760 next-generation 2U rack server in data center

R760

Photo from the R760 page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

Frequently asked questions

How much do the R750 and the R760 cost?

We do not publish prices for either: secondary-market hardware is repriced weekly. Send the quantity, the platform and the condition you want and we quote both against confirmed stock, with the date the figure holds until.

What is the main difference between the R750 and the R760?

Processors (R750: 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), LGA4189, dual socket; R760: 2× 4th Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Sapphire Rapids), up to 60 cores each); Memory (R750: 32 x DDR4-3200 DIMM slots; R760: 32× DDR5 DIMM slots, up to 8TB RDIMM, 4800 MT/s (16 channels total)); Power (R750: Dual redundant hot-plug PSU; R760: Redundant PSUs, 1400W–2800W options).

Can I use the R750 and the R760 in the same system?

No. These are complete server platforms, not components: you would run two machines, not combine them. If you need a mixed fleet, we quote both configurations instead.

Which one should I buy?

Buy the one whose strong points match the job: see the "Choose" section above. If you are replacing an existing part, send the platform or the old part number and we will confirm compatibility before you order.

What condition are they in, and do you ship worldwide?

Both are supplied tested with a 1-year written warranty. Condition is stated line by line before you order — new, decommissioned pull or OEM tray — and we ship worldwide from the Hong Kong warehouse with full export documentation, typically 3–7 days by air.

Get a quote for either — or both

Tell us the quantity, the platform and the condition you need. We confirm stock and put a firm figure in writing with the date it holds until.

Request a Quote

More Rack Servers · All comparisons · R750 · R760