← Rack Servers
Comparison Rack Servers Prices on request — no figure is published on this page

R650 vs R650xs

The R650 and the R650xs are both rack servers we supply tested from Hong Kong, and the figures below are the same ones published on each product page. They share 2 listed specification rows and separate on processors, memory, power, so the decision is less about "which is better" and more about which of those differences your platform or workload can actually use.

Nothing on this page is a price: used and refurbished hardware is repriced weekly, so both are quoted on request against confirmed stock with the date the quote holds until. If you are replacing a part, send the platform and we will confirm the population before you commit.

Side by side

R650 vs R650xs specifications

Specification R650 R650xs
Processors3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), LGA4189, dual socket2× 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), up to 40 cores each
Memory32 x DDR4-3200 DIMM slots16× DDR4 DIMM slots, up to 4TB RDIMM/LRDIMM, 3200 MT/s
Expansionnot statedUp to 3× PCIe Gen4 slots + OCP 3.0
Storagenot statedUp to 10× 2.5" SAS/SATA (8 NVMe capable) front bays
PowerDual redundant hot-plug PSURedundant PSUs, 800W–1400W options
Form factor1U rack1U rack
Networkingnot statedOCP 3.0 mezzanine + PCIe NICs, 1/10/25GbE
ModelDell PowerEdge R650not stated
Maximum memory8TB (vendor-rated with the largest supported LRDIMMs)not stated
Drive baysUp to 10 x 2.5in or 4 x 3.5innot stated
PCIePCIe Gen4not stated
ManagementiDRAC9iDRAC9 Enterprise

Rows that differ are highlighted. Figures are the same ones published on each product page; where a figure is community-sourced rather than vendor-published it is stated on that page. Confirm every part against your build sheet when ordering.

Where they differ

  • ·Processors — R650: 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), LGA4189, dual socket; R650xs: 2× 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), up to 40 cores each.
  • ·Memory — R650: 32 x DDR4-3200 DIMM slots; R650xs: 16× DDR4 DIMM slots, up to 4TB RDIMM/LRDIMM, 3200 MT/s.
  • ·Power — R650: Dual redundant hot-plug PSU; R650xs: Redundant PSUs, 800W–1400W options.

What they share

Form factor: 1U rack; Management: iDRAC9.

Decision

Which one to buy

With two rack servers the decision usually comes down to three things: which processor generation the platform takes, which memory type comes with it, and how many PCIe lanes and bays you get. A newer generation (4th/5th Gen Xeon, DDR5, PCIe Gen5) is the longer-lived buy and will still take current-generation parts in three years; a previous-generation DDR4 platform is the value buy when the workload is settled and the CPUs and memory for it are already on the shelf. Neither choice is wrong — but the platform decides what you can upgrade later, so match it to the CPU and memory you intend to run rather than to the chassis.

Choose the R650 if

  • ·Processors: 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), LGA4189, dual socket
  • ·Memory: 32 x DDR4-3200 DIMM slots
  • ·Power: Dual redundant hot-plug PSU

Full R650 specification →

Choose the R650xs if

  • ·Processors: 2× 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), up to 40 cores each
  • ·Memory: 16× DDR4 DIMM slots, up to 4TB RDIMM/LRDIMM, 3200 MT/s
  • ·Power: Redundant PSUs, 800W–1400W options

Full R650xs specification →

Photos

What the two look like

Dell PowerEdge R650 front view

R650

Photo from the R650 page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

Dell PowerEdge R650xs 1U rack server in data center

R650xs

Photo from the R650xs page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

Frequently asked questions

How much do the R650 and the R650xs cost?

We do not publish prices for either: secondary-market hardware is repriced weekly. Send the quantity, the platform and the condition you want and we quote both against confirmed stock, with the date the figure holds until.

What is the main difference between the R650 and the R650xs?

Processors (R650: 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), LGA4189, dual socket; R650xs: 2× 3rd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable (Ice Lake), up to 40 cores each); Memory (R650: 32 x DDR4-3200 DIMM slots; R650xs: 16× DDR4 DIMM slots, up to 4TB RDIMM/LRDIMM, 3200 MT/s); Power (R650: Dual redundant hot-plug PSU; R650xs: Redundant PSUs, 800W–1400W options).

Can I use the R650 and the R650xs in the same system?

No. These are complete server platforms, not components: you would run two machines, not combine them. If you need a mixed fleet, we quote both configurations instead.

Which one should I buy?

Buy the one whose strong points match the job: see the "Choose" section above. If you are replacing an existing part, send the platform or the old part number and we will confirm compatibility before you order.

What condition are they in, and do you ship worldwide?

Both are supplied tested with a 1-year written warranty. Condition is stated line by line before you order — new, decommissioned pull or OEM tray — and we ship worldwide from the Hong Kong warehouse with full export documentation, typically 3–7 days by air.

Get a quote for either — or both

Tell us the quantity, the platform and the condition you need. We confirm stock and put a firm figure in writing with the date it holds until.

Request a Quote

More Rack Servers · All comparisons · R650 · R650xs