← Data Center GPUs
Comparison Data Center GPUs Prices on request — no figure is published on this page

H100 vs L40S

The H100 and the L40S are both data centre GPUs we supply tested from Hong Kong, and the figures below are the same ones published on each product page. They share the same supply and warranty terms and separate on memory, power, architecture, so the decision is less about "which is better" and more about which of those differences your platform or workload can actually use.

Nothing on this page is a price: used and refurbished hardware is repriced weekly, so both are quoted on request against confirmed stock with the date the quote holds until. If you are replacing a part, send the platform and we will confirm the population before you commit.

Side by side

H100 vs L40S specifications

Specification H100 L40S
Memory80GB HBM3 3.35 TB/s (SXM5) / 80GB HBM2e 2.0 TB/s (PCIe)48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 864 GB/s
Power700W (SXM5) / 350W (PCIe), passive350W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector
Interfacenot statedPCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot full-height, passive
ArchitectureHopper GH100, 132 SM (SXM5) / 114 SM (PCIe)Ada Lovelace, 18,176 CUDA cores, 568 fourth-gen Tensor cores, 142 third-gen RT cores
ComputeFP8 1,979 TFLOPS / FP16 989 TFLOPS (SXM5, with sparsity)FP8 733 TFLOPS / FP16-BF16 362 TFLOPS / TF32 183 TFLOPS / FP32 91.6 TFLOPS
MIGUp to 7 instances (10GB each)not stated
NVLink900 GB/s GPU-to-GPU (SXM5); NVLink bridge (PCIe)not stated
NVLink / MIGnot statedNo NVLink; MIG not supported on this board
Virtualizationnot statedvGPU supported; NVIDIA AI Enterprise ready
ModelNVIDIA H100 80GB — SXM5 (900-21010-0000-000) and PCIe variantsNVIDIA L40S 48GB PCIe; OEM-branded Dell / Lenovo / HP boards are the same GPU
Transformer EngineFP8 training and inference, 4th-gen Tensor coresnot stated
Medianot stated3x NVENC / 3x NVDEC — AV1 encode and decode

Rows that differ are highlighted. Figures are the same ones published on each product page; where a figure is community-sourced rather than vendor-published it is stated on that page. Confirm every part against your build sheet when ordering.

Where they differ

  • ·Memory — H100: 80GB HBM3 3.35 TB/s (SXM5) / 80GB HBM2e 2.0 TB/s (PCIe); L40S: 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 864 GB/s.
  • ·Power — H100: 700W (SXM5) / 350W (PCIe), passive; L40S: 350W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector.
  • ·Architecture — H100: Hopper GH100, 132 SM (SXM5) / 114 SM (PCIe); L40S: Ada Lovelace, 18,176 CUDA cores, 568 fourth-gen Tensor cores, 142 third-gen RT cores.
  • ·Compute — H100: FP8 1,979 TFLOPS / FP16 989 TFLOPS (SXM5, with sparsity); L40S: FP8 733 TFLOPS / FP16-BF16 362 TFLOPS / TF32 183 TFLOPS / FP32 91.6 TFLOPS.

Decision

Which one to buy

Data centre GPUs are chosen by memory footprint per job and by the deployment you already have. More memory per card means bigger models, larger batches and fewer cards for the same workload; less memory per card is often the better buy when you scale out across many nodes. Memory bandwidth and compute format matter for the workload — FP8 and BF16 throughput for inference, FP64 for simulation — and the power envelope decides how many cards fit per chassis. Check the form factor and cooling as well: a passive server card and an actively cooled workstation card are not interchangeable.

Choose the H100 if

  • ·Memory: 80GB HBM3 3.35 TB/s (SXM5) / 80GB HBM2e 2.0 TB/s (PCIe)
  • ·Power: 700W (SXM5) / 350W (PCIe), passive
  • ·Architecture: Hopper GH100, 132 SM (SXM5) / 114 SM (PCIe)

Full H100 specification →

Choose the L40S if

  • ·Memory: 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 864 GB/s
  • ·Power: 350W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector
  • ·Architecture: Ada Lovelace, 18,176 CUDA cores, 568 fourth-gen Tensor cores, 142 third-gen RT cores

Full L40S specification →

Photos

What the two look like

NVIDIA H100 official key visual — Hopper GPU module on dark background

H100

Photo from the H100 page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

NVIDIA L40S 48GB official render — dual-slot full-height passive PCIe Gen4 data center GPU

L40S

Photo from the L40S page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

Frequently asked questions

How much do the H100 and the L40S cost?

We do not publish prices for either: secondary-market hardware is repriced weekly. Send the quantity, the platform and the condition you want and we quote both against confirmed stock, with the date the figure holds until.

What is the main difference between the H100 and the L40S?

Memory (H100: 80GB HBM3 3.35 TB/s (SXM5) / 80GB HBM2e 2.0 TB/s (PCIe); L40S: 48GB GDDR6 with ECC, 864 GB/s); Power (H100: 700W (SXM5) / 350W (PCIe), passive; L40S: 350W TDP, 16-pin (CEM5) power connector); Architecture (H100: Hopper GH100, 132 SM (SXM5) / 114 SM (PCIe); L40S: Ada Lovelace, 18,176 CUDA cores, 568 fourth-gen Tensor cores, 142 third-gen RT cores).

Can I use the H100 and the L40S in the same system?

They can share a server if the power and slot budget allows it, but they target different jobs: H100 and L40S differ mainly on Memory and Power. Mixed GPU models in one host is a driver/CUDA compatibility decision, not a hardware one.

Which one should I buy?

Buy the one whose strong points match the job: see the "Choose" section above. If you are replacing an existing part, send the platform or the old part number and we will confirm compatibility before you order.

What condition are they in, and do you ship worldwide?

Both are supplied tested with a 1-year written warranty. Condition is stated line by line before you order — new, decommissioned pull or OEM tray — and we ship worldwide from the Hong Kong warehouse with full export documentation, typically 3–7 days by air.

Get a quote for either — or both

Tell us the quantity, the platform and the condition you need. We confirm stock and put a firm figure in writing with the date it holds until.

Request a Quote

More Data Center GPUs · All comparisons · H100 · L40S