A100 40GB vs H100
The A100 40GB and the H100 are both data centre GPUs we supply tested from Hong Kong, and the figures below are the same ones published on each product page. They share the same supply and warranty terms and separate on memory, architecture, compute, so the decision is less about "which is better" and more about which of those differences your platform or workload can actually use.
Nothing on this page is a price: used and refurbished hardware is repriced weekly, so both are quoted on request against confirmed stock with the date the quote holds until. If you are replacing a part, send the platform and we will confirm the population before you commit.
Side by side
A100 40GB vs H100 specifications
| Specification | A100 40GB | H100 |
|---|---|---|
| Memory | 40GB HBM2 ECC, 1,555 GB/s | 80GB HBM3 3.35 TB/s (SXM5) / 80GB HBM2e 2.0 TB/s (PCIe) |
| Power | not stated | 700W (SXM5) / 350W (PCIe), passive |
| Interface | PCIe Gen4 x16, dual-slot passive (250W); SXM4 400W | not stated |
| Architecture | Ampere GA100, 6,912 CUDA cores, 432 Tensor cores (3rd gen) | Hopper GH100, 132 SM (SXM5) / 114 SM (PCIe) |
| Compute | FP16 312 TFLOPS / TF32 156 TFLOPS / FP32 19.5 TFLOPS | FP8 1,979 TFLOPS / FP16 989 TFLOPS (SXM5, with sparsity) |
| MIG | Up to 7 instances (5GB each) | Up to 7 instances (10GB each) |
| NVLink | PCIe: 2-link bridge; SXM4: 12 links, 600 GB/s | 900 GB/s GPU-to-GPU (SXM5); NVLink bridge (PCIe) |
| Status | Production ended Feb 2024 — secondary market supply | not stated |
| Model | NVIDIA A100 40GB PCIe (900-21001-0000-000); SXM4 variant available | NVIDIA H100 80GB — SXM5 (900-21010-0000-000) and PCIe variants |
| Transformer Engine | not stated | FP8 training and inference, 4th-gen Tensor cores |
Rows that differ are highlighted. Figures are the same ones published on each product page; where a figure is community-sourced rather than vendor-published it is stated on that page. Confirm every part against your build sheet when ordering.
Where they differ
- ·Memory — A100 40GB: 40GB HBM2 ECC, 1,555 GB/s; H100: 80GB HBM3 3.35 TB/s (SXM5) / 80GB HBM2e 2.0 TB/s (PCIe).
- ·Architecture — A100 40GB: Ampere GA100, 6,912 CUDA cores, 432 Tensor cores (3rd gen); H100: Hopper GH100, 132 SM (SXM5) / 114 SM (PCIe).
- ·Compute — A100 40GB: FP16 312 TFLOPS / TF32 156 TFLOPS / FP32 19.5 TFLOPS; H100: FP8 1,979 TFLOPS / FP16 989 TFLOPS (SXM5, with sparsity).
- ·MIG — A100 40GB: Up to 7 instances (5GB each); H100: Up to 7 instances (10GB each).
- ·NVLink — A100 40GB: PCIe: 2-link bridge; SXM4: 12 links, 600 GB/s; H100: 900 GB/s GPU-to-GPU (SXM5); NVLink bridge (PCIe).
Decision
Which one to buy
Data centre GPUs are chosen by memory footprint per job and by the deployment you already have. More memory per card means bigger models, larger batches and fewer cards for the same workload; less memory per card is often the better buy when you scale out across many nodes. Memory bandwidth and compute format matter for the workload — FP8 and BF16 throughput for inference, FP64 for simulation — and the power envelope decides how many cards fit per chassis. Check the form factor and cooling as well: a passive server card and an actively cooled workstation card are not interchangeable.
Choose the A100 40GB if
- ·Memory: 40GB HBM2 ECC, 1,555 GB/s
- ·Architecture: Ampere GA100, 6,912 CUDA cores, 432 Tensor cores (3rd gen)
- ·Compute: FP16 312 TFLOPS / TF32 156 TFLOPS / FP32 19.5 TFLOPS
Choose the H100 if
- ·Memory: 80GB HBM3 3.35 TB/s (SXM5) / 80GB HBM2e 2.0 TB/s (PCIe)
- ·Architecture: Hopper GH100, 132 SM (SXM5) / 114 SM (PCIe)
- ·Compute: FP8 1,979 TFLOPS / FP16 989 TFLOPS (SXM5, with sparsity)
Photos
What the two look like

A100 40GB
Photo from the A100 40GB page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.
Frequently asked questions
How much do the A100 40GB and the H100 cost?
We do not publish prices for either: secondary-market hardware is repriced weekly. Send the quantity, the platform and the condition you want and we quote both against confirmed stock, with the date the figure holds until.
What is the main difference between the A100 40GB and the H100?
Memory (A100 40GB: 40GB HBM2 ECC, 1,555 GB/s; H100: 80GB HBM3 3.35 TB/s (SXM5) / 80GB HBM2e 2.0 TB/s (PCIe)); Architecture (A100 40GB: Ampere GA100, 6,912 CUDA cores, 432 Tensor cores (3rd gen); H100: Hopper GH100, 132 SM (SXM5) / 114 SM (PCIe)); Compute (A100 40GB: FP16 312 TFLOPS / TF32 156 TFLOPS / FP32 19.5 TFLOPS; H100: FP8 1,979 TFLOPS / FP16 989 TFLOPS (SXM5, with sparsity)).
Can I use the A100 40GB and the H100 in the same system?
They can share a server if the power and slot budget allows it, but they target different jobs: A100 40GB and H100 differ mainly on Memory and Architecture. Mixed GPU models in one host is a driver/CUDA compatibility decision, not a hardware one.
Which one should I buy?
Buy the one whose strong points match the job: see the "Choose" section above. If you are replacing an existing part, send the platform or the old part number and we will confirm compatibility before you order.
What condition are they in, and do you ship worldwide?
Both are supplied tested with a 1-year written warranty. Condition is stated line by line before you order — new, decommissioned pull or OEM tray — and we ship worldwide from the Hong Kong warehouse with full export documentation, typically 3–7 days by air.
Get a quote for either — or both
Tell us the quantity, the platform and the condition you need. We confirm stock and put a firm figure in writing with the date it holds until.
Request a Quote