EPYC 9554 vs EPYC 9J14
The EPYC 9554 and the EPYC 9J14 are both server processors we supply tested from Hong Kong, and the figures below are the same ones published on each product page. They share 1 listed specification row and separate on cores / threads, tdp, cache, so the decision is less about "which is better" and more about which of those differences your platform or workload can actually use.
Nothing on this page is a price: component pricing moved too fast in 2026 for a printed figure to stay honest, so both are quoted on request against confirmed stock with the date the quote holds until. If you are replacing a part, send the platform and we will confirm the population before you commit.
Side by side
EPYC 9554 vs EPYC 9J14 specifications
| Specification | EPYC 9554 | EPYC 9J14 |
|---|---|---|
| Cores / Threads | 64 cores / 128 threads | 96 cores / 192 threads per CPU |
| Socket | SP5 (LGA 6096), 2P-capable | SP5 (LGA 6096) |
| TDP | 360W (configurable 320–400W) | 360W in OEM/secondary-market listings for this OPN; not confirmed by an AMD-published document |
| Cache | 256MB L3 + 64MB L2 | 384MB in OEM/secondary-market listings for this OPN; not confirmed by an AMD-published document |
| Memory | 12-channel DDR5-4800 | DDR5 platform (SP5). Channel count for this specific SKU is not published by AMD - confirmed against your platform's supported-CPU list at order time. |
| PCIe | PCIe Gen5, 128 lanes | PCIe Gen5 platform (SP5). Lane count for this specific SKU is not published by AMD - confirmed against your platform's supported-CPU list at order time. |
| Processor | AMD EPYC 9554 (Genoa), OPN 100-000000790 | AMD EPYC 9J14 (OEM / cloud-custom SKU) |
| Clock | 3.1GHz base / 3.75GHz max boost | Not agreed between public sources: 2.40GHz in OEM/secondary-market listings for OPN 100-000000933, 2.6GHz in the PassMark CPU Benchmark record. We publish both rather than choosing. base / Up to 3.7GHz (PassMark CPU Benchmark record) max |
| Microarchitecture | not stated | Listed as Zen 4 by secondary-market sources; AMD publishes no specification page for this SKU |
| Orderable part number | not stated | 100-000000933 (100-000000933WOF also seen) |
| Part class | not stated | Server tray / OEM part - no boxed retail SKU |
| Launch | not stated | Q3 2023 (PassMark CPU Benchmark 'first seen on chart') |
Rows that differ are highlighted. Figures are the same ones published on each product page; where a figure is community-sourced rather than vendor-published it is stated on that page. Confirm every part against your build sheet when ordering.
Where they differ
- ·EPYC 9J14 has the higher core count (96 vs 64); EPYC 9554 trades that for something else.
- ·TDP — EPYC 9554: 360W (configurable 320–400W); EPYC 9J14: 360W in OEM/secondary-market listings for this OPN; not confirmed by an AMD-published document.
- ·EPYC 9J14 has the higher cache (384 vs 256); EPYC 9554 trades that for something else.
- ·Memory — EPYC 9554: 12-channel DDR5-4800; EPYC 9J14: DDR5 platform (SP5). Channel count for this specific SKU is not published by AMD - confirmed against your platform's supported-CPU list at order time..
- ·PCIe — EPYC 9554: PCIe Gen5, 128 lanes; EPYC 9J14: PCIe Gen5 platform (SP5). Lane count for this specific SKU is not published by AMD - confirmed against your platform's supported-CPU list at order time..
- ·EPYC 9554 lists the higher base clock (3.1GHz base / 3.75GHz max boost vs Not agreed between public sources: 2.40GHz in OEM/secondary-market listings for OPN 100-000000933, 2.6GHz in the PassMark CPU Benchmark record. We publish both rather than choosing. base / Up to 3.7GHz (PassMark CPU Benchmark record) max).
What they share
Socket: SP5 (LGA 6096), 2P-capable.
Decision
Which one to buy
For processors the useful split is throughput versus frequency. More cores per socket wins on virtualisation density, parallel batch work and multi-tenant hosting, where the scheduler can keep every core busy; higher base and boost clocks win where the workload is latency-sensitive or licensed per core, and the extra cores would sit idle. Check the socket and the platform's memory generation before anything else: a CPU is only useful in a board that takes it, and the two models above are interchangeable only when the socket matches. TDP also sets the cooling and power budget per node.
Choose the EPYC 9554 if
- ·Memory: 12-channel DDR5-4800
- ·PCIe: PCIe Gen5, 128 lanes
- ·You need more base clock — the EPYC 9554 lists 3.1GHz base / 3.75GHz max boost against Not agreed between public sources: 2.40GHz in OEM/secondary-market listings for OPN 100-000000933, 2.6GHz in the PassMark CPU Benchmark record. We publish both rather than choosing. base / Up to 3.7GHz (PassMark CPU Benchmark record) max on the EPYC 9J14.
Choose the EPYC 9J14 if
- ·You need more core count — the EPYC 9J14 lists 96 cores / 192 threads per CPU against 64 cores / 128 threads on the EPYC 9554.
- ·You need more cache — the EPYC 9J14 lists 384MB in OEM/secondary-market listings for this OPN; not confirmed by an AMD-published document against 256MB L3 + 64MB L2 on the EPYC 9554.
- ·Memory: DDR5 platform (SP5). Channel count for this specific SKU is not published by AMD - confirmed against your platform's supported-CPU list at order time.
Photos
What the two look like

EPYC 9554
Photo from the EPYC 9554 page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.

EPYC 9J14
Photo from the EPYC 9J14 page. Every unit's label is read against your order before dispatch.
Frequently asked questions
How much do the EPYC 9554 and the EPYC 9J14 cost?
We do not publish prices for either: DRAM and CPU pricing moved too fast in 2026 for a printed figure to stay honest. Send the quantity, the platform and the condition you want and we quote both against confirmed stock, with the date the figure holds until.
What is the main difference between the EPYC 9554 and the EPYC 9J14?
Cores / Threads (EPYC 9554: 64 cores / 128 threads; EPYC 9J14: 96 cores / 192 threads per CPU); TDP (EPYC 9554: 360W (configurable 320–400W); EPYC 9J14: 360W in OEM/secondary-market listings for this OPN; not confirmed by an AMD-published document); Cache (EPYC 9554: 256MB L3 + 64MB L2; EPYC 9J14: 384MB in OEM/secondary-market listings for this OPN; not confirmed by an AMD-published document).
Can I use the EPYC 9554 and the EPYC 9J14 in the same system?
Both are SP5 (LGA 6096) parts, so one server can take either model — but you would not mix two different CPU models in a single two-socket machine; order one model per server.
Which one should I buy?
Buy the one whose strong points match the job: see the "Choose" section above. If you are replacing an existing part, send the platform or the old part number and we will confirm compatibility before you order.
What condition are they in, and do you ship worldwide?
Both are supplied tested with a 1-year written warranty. Condition is stated line by line before you order — new, decommissioned pull or OEM tray — and we ship worldwide from the Hong Kong warehouse with full export documentation, typically 3–7 days by air.
Get a quote for either — or both
Tell us the quantity, the platform and the condition you need. We confirm stock and put a firm figure in writing with the date it holds until.
Request a Quote